School Board

The Board is the governing body of the school consisting of five elected community representatives, a staff representative, the Principal and up to 4 co-opted members.

The Board’s role includes responsibility for property, personnel, and finances, reporting to the audit office and the community, and ensuring the quality of delivery of the teaching curriculum.

The Board holds scheduled monthly meetings commencing at 7.00pm in the school staffroom. Anyone is most welcome to attend meetings as an observer. Copies of meeting minutes are available from the school office. The School Charter, School Policies and Education Review Office Reports are also available.

Paraparaumu Beach School Board Members:

Chairperson – Zoe Pearson
Principal – Jess Ward
Kate Fiske
Rae Bolton
Matt Hudson
Sam Direen
Staff Rep – Rachel McDowell
Secretary – Marie Barfoote

2023 Board Members

Financial Statements

To read the 2020 PBS Financial Statements click here PBS – 2020 Unaudited Financial Accounts

To read the 2021 PBS Annual Report for the Year Ending 31 December 2021 click here Annual Report 2021

Board Notices & Agendas

Meet Your Board Members

Zoe Pearson - Board Chair

I have two children at PBS, in Years 5 and 7. We have lived in Kāpiti for four and a half years, and feel lucky to have settled in this community. I have a legal background, completing LLB, LLM and PhD degrees in Law in New Zealand and Australia, and have worked mainly in the legal field in government and academia in New Zealand and the United Kingdom. I have also had voluntary roles with various non-profit and community organisations, including Girl Guiding New Zealand, Trade Aid, and Conservation Volunteers. Most recently and locally, my family and I have been involved in the Friends of Tikotu Stream group that looks after the plantings alongside the stream at the southern end of Gray Ave. I have a strong passion for the environment and I prefer to be outside in the garden, at the beach or in the bush when I get any spare time.

I am committed to ensuring PBS continues to be a place where all children can thrive and achieve their potential, and to support staff and senior management in what are challenging roles. Listening to and facilitating the involvement of parents and whānau in their children’s learning and the life of the school is also something I feel is hugely important.

I value the diversity of opportunities that are offered to students at PBS and the supportive school environment, and I try to assist with these opportunities as far as I can. You might see me helping in the school gardens from time to time, or checking the rat traps with the Paraparaumu Bird Savers. Seeing children try new things, challenging themselves, working together, gaining confidence and independence is something that I’ve felt privileged to witness on the number of different occasions I’ve been lucky enough to attend school activities or camps as a parent helper.

Kate Fiske

Kia ora PBS whānau. I have two children at PBS, in Year’s 3 and 5, and a toddler who will be shouldering her schoolbag just as her last big sister heads off to college. We love our school and feel lucky to be part of PBS and the wider Kāpiti Coast community, with everything it offers.

Membership of our school Board allows us to support, enable and challenge the impressive work that our senior managers and staff carry out every day so that they can continue to build and improve an environment where our kids can thrive. I feel very privileged to work with such talented and committed Board colleagues in this kaupapa.

My degrees are in science and communications, and I’ve worked for many years in policy, governance and development roles. I believe that all of our children must have the opportunity to achieve their potential, wherever their passions lie. This means looking after their wellbeing and the wellbeing of their families, providing a safe environment free from bullying, harassment and stereotyping, and providing opportunities that meet their needs and allow them to shine.

I strongly encourage members of our school community to read the one-page strategy that the Board has developed for our school, and to take part in surveys carried out by the Board. We listen to your feedback, so please help us to make PBS even better!

Sam Direen

Hi there, nice to meet you. I’m Sam and have two kids attending PBS – Devin (Year 3) and Romie (Year 0).

My motivation for becoming a Board member is to understand more about the school and influence these settings for the benefit of all families with kids attending PBS, while also ensuring the staff are supported.

The skills I bring to the Board should help support good decision making, especially anything that would benefit from some solid analysis or risk management. I’m trained in economics, finance and accounting and was Treasurer of Kāinga Ora (formerly Housing NZ) for several years. My current role is managing a large team responsible for the Kāinga Ora Budget and reporting, but ultimately it’s about leadership and helping people make better decisions.

In my 20s I taught English for three years offshore (this was a fun OE gig – I do not claim to understand the pressures that teachers face!) and Jasmyn, my wife, is an ECE teacher and regularly relieves at various kindergartens/centres across town.

My free time is usually micro-managed by my son Devin, who is into absolutely everything, but also includes catching up with my two sisters and parents (also on the coast), having all originally come from Christchurch.

Matt Hudson

As a board member I am passionate about giving PBS kids the best opportunities and broadest experiences possible, while giving them the critical and lateral thinking skills that have never been more important to succeed in life. I also feel that emotional intelligence is crucial if kids are going to be able to navigate relationships in a society that’s increasingly shaped by technology.

I want to provide our kids with the technical skills that are relevant in an online world, where an ability to quickly master shifting platforms can only help their future success.  I also want to reinforce resilience and growth mindsets that are needed to give our kids the mental tenacity they’ll need to overcome life’s hurdles as they grow into thriving adults.